Posted by: dreamerspoetry | October 11, 2009

The Way of Life

Why do you run from me?

What did I ever do to you?

Why are you scared to look me in the eye?

I promised I wouldn’t bite you.

I never once tried to hurt you.

You know I’d let myself die first.

Why do you hide behind the guilt when you know,

I forgave you for all the hurt?

Like chasing twilight, at the break of dawn,

And finding warmth in the pouring rain,

Going to heaven to bring your heart back to me,

Alone and crying through the pain,

But it’s the way of life.

Still you wont listen to these words,

Though they were meant just for you,

I’m the one with a broken heart,

I let it go, but I can’t let go of you,

You said we’d be friends to the end,

For forever and a day,

Now I am standing here by myself,

And you keep walking away.

I don’t have to keep trying,

You won’t see me crying,

I’m being strong for you,

Whether you want me to be or not.

-Brittney Taylor

Leave a Reply

Categories

